02 / 13 / 2018
  - 02:45:22 PM
Northeastern Takes Home First Beanpot Title In 30 Years

By MyFM's Jake Archer - The Northeastern men's hockey team made history on Monday night at TD Garden as they beat Boston University 5-2 to win the Beanpot championship for the first time in 30 years. The Huskies had lost nine times in the tournament finals since last taking home the trophy in 1988. Boston University's Terriers had won 16 times since then and has 30 titles overall. Six of the Huskies' losses in the final had come at the hands of BU. 

Monday night was different however, as Northeastern came in with a better team than usual. Even though they always are the underdog in the competition between themselves, Boston University, Boston College and Harvard, they were ranked number twelve overall in the country coming in and had taken down the Terriers twice already in the regular season. Neither game was close with Northeastern winning 4-1 and 6-1. 

Boston University actually got on the board first in this one as Logan Cockerill was credited with a goal that was tipped in by Northeastern's goalie Cayden Primeau. That was early in the first and could have taken some of the wind right out of the Huskies' sails, but it did not. Nolan Stevens tied it up on a power play goal and Adam Gaudette made it 2-1 with a goal of his own late in the first. In the second period, Trevor Owens added an insurance goal for Northeastern to make the score 3-1. 

The Huskies really opened it up with another power play goal late in the second, this time from Gaudette. At 4-1, they had some breathing room and just needed to hang on. They would do so for most of the third and BU resorted to pulling their goalie, which actually worked out as they cut the deficit to 4-2 with just under three minutes left. Gaudette would finish off his hat trick late with an empty netter to ice the game and give Northeastern victory. Primeau stopped 38 shots in the win. 

This was the fifth Beanpot win for Northeastern, which is by far the least of the four schools that play in the tournament every year on the first two Mondays of February. Gaudette, who is the leading scorer in the whole country, was named the tournament's most outstanding player and the freshman Primeau earned the Eberly Award as the top goaltender. This was the first time in the history of the Beanpot that all four schools have won in a four-year span. It's also the first time since the Terriers won their first Beanpot in 1958 that they own the longest drought of the four schools. 

Defending champion Harvard also took down BC in the consolation game by an overtime score of 5-4. 

Contact Us

Phone: (508) 473-1490

Address: 258 Main Street
PO Box 421 Milford, MA 01757
Email: raywmrc@gmail.com

Public File

Advertise With Us

We offer an integrated, multi-platform program that combines the power and effectiveness of radio with the innovation and influence of the web.  Click HERE to learn more.